The following credits are from the original site, launched in 1998 and retired in 2018. Amanda Morton (with support from the Louise and Rudolf Fishel Fellowship) and Sean Takats migrated Liberty, Equality, Fraternity's content to a more modern platform and replaced most of the images with higher resolution versions from the public domain.


This site is a collaboration of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) and the American Social History Project (City University of New York), supported by grants from the Florence Gould Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities, an Independent Federal Agency.

Editors and principal authors: Jack R. Censer and Lynn Hunt

Produced by: Pennee Bender, Joshua Brown, Roy Rosenzweig

Associate Producers: Jack R. Censer, Lynn Hunt

Executive Producers: Stephen Brier, Joshua Brown, Roy Rosenzweig

Multimedia Production: Pennee Bender, Joshua Brown

Associate Editors: Gregory Brown and Jeff Horn

"How to Read Images" by Philippe Bordes

"Songs of the Revolution" by Laura Mason

Designers: Joshua Brown and Fernando Azevedo

Graphics and Art Work: Fernando Azevedo, Joshua Brown, Andrea Ades Vásquez

Database development: Elena Razlogova

Web Programming: Jennifer Min, Burç Acar, Christopher Hefner, Elena Razlogova, Peter Strong

Translations: Thomas Morgan, Lee Ann Ghajar, Emanuelle M. Mosinski

Copyediting: Vicky Macintyre, Susie LeBlanc

Research and Technical Assistance: Jessica Finnefrock, Peter Strong, Gideon Brown, Elena Razlogova, TuVinh Vuong, Alan Gevinson, Julie Carpenter, Deborah Gómez, Lynne Zegeer, Cathie Boivin, Claire Taylor, Elizabeth Harden, Chris Moore, Louise Vis, Nathan Hamilton, Joseph Rinehart, Erin Miller, Tom McMurrer, Sanchia Spence, Steve Paxton, Jennifer Sessions, Michael Laine, Dan Maxwell, Troy LaChance

Music: "Te Deum," "Air des Marseillais," "Hymne du 21 Janvier," "Hymne du IX Thermidor," "Hymne pour la Fete des Epoux," "Chant pour la Fete de la Vieillese," "Hymne Funebre," "Chant Patriotique," Margaret Redcay
Robert Walzel, Flute
Richard Meek, Clarinet
John Stinespring, Bassoon

The music was taken from Constant Pierre, Musique des fêtes et ceremonies de la Révolution Française (Paris: Imprimerie Nationale, 1899). It was arranged for woodwind ensemble and basso-cantante soloist (William Hartwell) by the musicians themselves.
"La Carmagnole," "Çaira," "Le Reveil du Peuple," "O Richard, O mon Roi," and "La Marseillaise" coordinated by James H. Johnson
Dana Whiteside, Baritone
James H. Johnson, Piano
Additional vocals by: Deborah Gitin, Jonathan Hiam, Jared Johnson, David Mooney, Sarah H. Murray, Geoffrey Wieting, Liza Wirtz, Robert Wright

Producer: Barry Marshall
Piano Selections performed by James H. Johnson
"La Marseillaise," Arrangé pour le Forte Piano Par le Citoyen C. Balbastre Aux braves defenseurs de la Republique francaise L'an 1792 1er de la Republique "Çaira," le Citoyen C. Balbastre "La Mort de Louis Seize," (selections) F. D. Mouchy "Les Souffrances de la Reine de France," (selections) Jan Ladislav Dussek Consultants: Beverly Blois, Philippe Bordes, Kathe Naughton

Thanks To: Mercer Street Sound, NYC, and Sound Techniques, Boston Major Funding: The National Endowment for the Humanities, an Independent Federal Agency; The Florence Gould Foundation